The Bliss Baby Charter was designed to standardise high quality family-centred care across the UK. It is a practical framework for neonatal units to self-assess the quality of family-centred care they deliver against a set of seven core principles. It enables units to audit their practices and develop meaningful plans to achieve changes that benefit babies and their families.

The Bliss Baby Charter gives units a clear focus that is based on, and supports, national standards, and places families at the centre of the care for their baby(ies).

What are the Bliss Baby Charter principles?

The seven Bliss Baby Charter principles are:

  • Social, developmental and emotional needs
  • Decision making
  • Specialist services and staff
  • Benchmarking
  • Unit information and support for families
  • Feeding
  • Discharge